Genuine Love

After my tough breakup, I gave everything to God. I knew God shut that door to open a new and better door. God filled that hole with the truth of the Gospel. 

March 6, 2015; five months after the breakup was my 20th birthday. A guy named Jordan messaged me through Facebook to wish me happy birthday. He ended up sending a heartfelt message about how much he has cared for me since the 8th grade. Jordan and I have been neighbors since elementary school. He was a quiet guy, so we never really talked; although I knew he liked me since the 8th grade. Once we graduated high school, Jordan joined the Marine Corps and moved to California while I lived at home and went to college. 

About a week after Jordan messaged me, I knew he was the one God had for me. At the time, Jordan was deployed in Japan. We talked every night and every morning until the end of April when he came home for his post deployment leave. That evening he walked down to my house and asked me to be his. The next evening Jordan picked me up, wearing his dress blues, to take me on our first date. I was blindfolded and then taken to the lake where Jordan had candles lighting a pathway to a picnic table. There was a beautiful vase filled with flowers as the center piece. Jordan cooked steaks for dinner and we ate under the moonlight on the lake shore. A week later, he got down on one knee and asked me to be his FOREVER! 

We planned the wedding for July 4, 2015; what better day to a marry a Marine than Independence Day? A week before our wedding, Jordan was placed on an assignment requiring his time and presence, causing the wedding to be postponed. The following two days I had my bachelorette party and my bridal shower. After my bridal shower, I packed whatever I could fit into a suitcase and jumped on a plane to California the next morning. July 2, 2015 I said “I do” at the courthouse in Laguna Niguel. 

Becoming Jordan’s wife has been the greatest decision I’ve ever made. The way he loves me, cherishes me, and encourages me is incredible. I never would have guessed a few months after my worst heartbreak would come my greatest blessing. 

Xoxo, Em Shellman 

 

One thought on “Genuine Love

  1. It’s so cool to see people in the old neighborhood progress in their lives. It’s even cooler to see that you guys ended up together. This story made my heart happy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

